American Society of Civil Engineers Georgia Tech Chapter
GT ASCE
Steel Bridge

Steel Bridge

Steel Bridge is a national competition that requires students to design a bridge around 20 feet long and no taller than 5 feet. The bridge is made up of multiple member that must be constructed during the timed competition.

Normally, fall semester is devoted to designing the steel bridge. Fabrication begins in January and will continue until the regional competition the first week of April. There will be meetings periodically throughout the fall, but plan on the bulk of your involvement being in the spring. Feel free to email us with any questions!

JOIN STEEL BRIDGE!

2023-2024 Officer Board:

President – Josh Gargan (jgargan3@gatech.edu)

Lead Designer – Shirin Farrokhi (sfarrokhi3@gatech.edu)

Connection Design Leads – Andy Lainez, Ruocheng Wang (dlainez3@gatech.edu, rcwang@gatech.edu)

Vice Fabricator/Vice Welder – Brian Wu (bwu318@gatech.edu)

CAD Guru – Gabe Ackall (gackall3@gatech.edu)

Secretary – Jordan Glass (jglass35@gatech.edu)

Officer at Large – Teddy Lemire (tlemire3@gatech.edu)

Last Year’s Rules: 2023 AISC Steel Bridge Rules

Video Link: The following link depicts the competition: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XhdXQQ0SFv8